Book Review: The Wild Woman’s Guide to Traveling the World

I live to travel, so when I saw Kristin Rockaway’s new book–The Wild Woman’s Guide to Traveling the World–I was intrigued. It was billed as a novel for fans of Sophie Kinsella and The Devil Wears Prada. Naturally, I bought it right away.

The story opens on the main character Sophie in Hong Kong where she is being abandoned by her best friend on the first day of their trip. Sophie works for an IT consulting firm that has her traveling constantly, but this works for her since she has a serious case of wanderlust. After embracing her solo traveler status, she comes across artist Carson, who is on an extended trip around the world. Sparks fly and the two begin a whirlwind romance that takes them from Hong Kong to Macau.

When Sophie returns home to NYC and her job, she finds herself wondering about Carson and his life. Sophie is a regimented planner, and takes her career seriously, but she can’t seem to shake the feeling that she’s missing out on life. A surprise turn of events (no spoilers, y’all!) forces Sophie to choose between the safe route and the one she’s always dreamed of–seeing the world without the restraints of her five-year plan.

I really enjoyed this book! Kristin did a great job of painting Sophie’s travels and translating the sights, sounds, and flavors onto the page for her readers. I have a craving for a pineapple bun now and I don’t know what I’m going to do! The romance between Sophie and Carson was white hot. I ended up loving his character and his free spirit.

As a fellow woman following her dreams, I can relate to Sophie’s struggle between her practical nature and the pull of possibilities when you let go of fears and embrace what you love. If you love to travel–either for real or via armchair–I definitely recommend this one!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s